How I got the Scribbler 2 robot with a Fluke 2 board working on Mac OS X

Resources

Steps

  1. Start-up Guide (shipped with Scribbler II) – Play around with the demo modes. I couldn’t try the USB interface because I didn’t buy the USB-to-serial converter…oops. However, the Fluke 2 board obviates the need for it.
  2. Follow the instructions at the IPRE wiki to download and install Calico (a framework for programming).
  3. Follow the instructions at http://quantumprogress.wordpress.com/2013/06/19/modeling-and-robots-on-a-mac/ to set up bluetooth.
  4. Do a firmware upgrade.
    I had trouble creating a custom tty port to use, so I left my original “/dev/tty.Fluke2-05FB-Fluke2” and in the terminal typed:

    cd /dev
    sudo ln -s tty.Fluke2-05FB-Fluke2 tty.scribbler
    

    You will need to replace “05FB” with whatever you see when you type ls -l /dev/tty.* from Terminal.app. Then I could type in the StartCalico.app:

    from firmwareupgrade import *
    upgrade("fluke", port="/dev/tty.scribbler")
    upgrade("scribbler")
    
  5. Initialize the robot (from the StartCalico.app using Myro):
    from Myro import *
    init("/dev/tty.scribbler") 
    

Now, according to Matt Greenwolfe, the next step is to write low-level movement routines that use the wheel encoders.

2 thoughts on “How I got the Scribbler 2 robot with a Fluke 2 board working on Mac OS X

  1. Glad you got this working! I investigated this with John Burk of Quantum Progesss this summer at physics teacher camp. We discovered that Myro was using the motor driver written by Phil Pilgrim and shipped with the S2. It could be replaced with the one that I wrote to provide more precision. Even better, though, we mapped out a tool chain whereby my graphical user interface could run on a MAC and transfer a working program straight to the robot. The robot can then run the program without needing a continuous data stream over bluetooth. Although the tool chain should work, we have yet to follow through and complete all the steps. Look for an update soon on my blog.

    • I look forward to it. I gave John my email address to share with you that I’m interested in getting your motor driver running. The toolchain idea with BST, etc. that you mention would probably suit my situation better than the Fluke 2, since my school won’t install programming software on student computers. I’d love to buy your application and install it with the toolchain so that students could just send me S2 assembly to transfer to the robot. However, for other purposes, it would be very exciting to be able to use something like Myro to give commands like “go forward at 2.3 cm/s for 3 sec” instead of “go forward at 0.4x speed for 8 sec”.

      It does occur to me that it might be an interesting project for my robotics students to map Myro’s speed factor to actual speed using motion detectors and to see how stable it is across different sets of batteries”. Then they could write some utility functions on top of Myro to approximate your driver to some uncertainty. You might have tried this before resorting to writing new driver code, so I assume it’s not as stable as one would like.

Leave a Reply

